Diamonds represent a lot of things. Most notably, they are a symbol of affluence and love. But is that all there is to diamonds?

All diamonds are not the same; no two are identical. In case you didn’t know, diamonds have different shapes, sizes, colors, but those are just attributes; diamonds are also subdivided into various types based on their hue, purity, and grade, which a jeweler will normally point out to you when you buy a piece of diamond jewelry.

Diamond Types & Classification

There are different kinds of diamonds in the market today, from natural to lab-grown. Lab-grown diamonds are sometimes called synthetic diamonds or cultured diamonds.

A common misconception is that diamonds are made of one element, namely, carbon. The truth is that carbon makes up the majority of a diamond’s lattice, but since natural diamonds are formed deep inside the earth, sometimes, elements like hydrogen, boron, cobalt, phosphorus,etc., may enter the crystalline lattice during the diamond formation, which leads to impurities within them. These impurities affect natural diamonds’ color, shape, and other physical properties.

Diamonds’ Classification

  1. Natural Diamonds

These are regular white diamonds everyone naturally thinks of.

  1. Lab-Grown Diamonds

These are artificially manufactured diamonds that are made of the same material as natural diamonds under a controlled environment. They have the same chemical and physical properties as a natural diamond with an undetectable hint of yellow hue. Because Lab-Grown diamonds do not require laborious extraction or mining, these diamonds are fifty percent or cheaper than natural diamonds.

  1. Treated Diamonds

These are regular diamonds that are also mined, but their attributes are enhanced to get a fancier-looking diamond. These are cheaper than natural and non-treated diamonds.

  1. Naturally Colored Diamonds

These are the most beautiful and also the rarest diamonds. They come in pink, canary yellow, and other rainbow colors (black as well!). This also means that they are very costly, with one carat of black diamond costing around $3,000, and blue diamonds at 3.9 million

Diamonds’ Types

In technical terms, natural diamonds have two types: Type I (with impurities) and

Type II (without impurities).

These categories are then broken into further sub-categories:

Type IA Diamonds

This diamond can be made up of carbon and nitrogen (as an impurity). Considering how nitrogen is the most abundant element on earth, it isn’t surprising that it finds a way into a diamond’s composition as well.

These diamonds have varied colors: from colorless to yellowish.

Type IB Diamonds

Although they too contain nitrogen in their composition, Type IB diamonds are scarce. If you have seen diamonds with intense colors like yellow, brown, or orange, they belong to Type IB.

Type IIA Diamonds

These diamonds have no impurities and are rare as well (1% of all naturally occurring diamonds). Type IIA is the purest chemically, making it the most sought-after diamond in the world. Some famous Type II diamonds are Hope Diamond, Krupp Diamond, and The Cullinan.

Most of these are colorless, but sometimes they can be pink, blue, red, and even yellow.

Type IIB Diamonds

Type II Bdiamondsare the rarest diamonds in the world, in the natural diamonds category. They have no nitrogen impurities (just boron). Boron in its crystal lattice makes Type IIB diamonds have blue-gray hues.

Give Your Love Voice With I-ZARA’s Diamond Collection

Whether you want to make a statement or confess your love, I-ZARA Jewelry has something for everyone. We have stunning diamond jewelry for men and women made from the best-cut diamonds in the industry.

Contact us now or visit our website: